Pike County Times

advanced search engine by freefind
PO Box 843, Zebulon, Georgia 30295. You can donate through PayPal at the link on the bottom of the page. Becky Watts: Phone # 770-468-7583 editor(@)pikecountytimes.com
Welcome to Pike County Times.com

Consider buying an advertisement for your business or sending a donation to Pike County Times to support the only free online newspaper in Pike County. Donations can be sent to: The Pike County Times, PO Box 843, Zebulon, Georgia 30295. Click here to donate through PayPal. Thanks for supporting Pike County's only free online newspaper!

Honoring Joanna Silver

ZEBULON - The family of Joanna Silver presented Station 8 on Gresham Road with a check from the "Joanna Silver Memorial Fund" on Saturday, December 5, 2020. Friends and family of Joanna donated in her honor in lieu of flowers earlier this year.

Joanna was a certified EMT (Emergency Service Technician) with the Pike County Fire Department in the 1980's where she faithfully volunteered both day and night. She was honored as First Responder of the Year Award in 2011, and she received the honorable Life Member Award in 2014 based on her dedication and distinguished service throughout her career until retirement.

The check was presented by Joanna's children and grandchildren and gratefully accepted by volunteers from Station 8: FF-AEMT Jacob McCullough, FF/EMT-I Chasen Wright, and Will Pier FF/Paramedic.

PVESBO, the non-profit part of the Pike County Fire Department, accepted the check on behalf of Station 8, and funds will be given directly to Joanna's home fire station.

Fire Fighter Jacob McCullough spoke on behalf of the Pike County Fire Department and said, "Joanna was loved by all of us." He said that this donation will be put to good use in her memory.

"Our family is so very grateful," said Tonya Silver Bullard. "From one family to her other family."

"Thanks for sharing her with us," Jacob said.

Joanna’s children and grandchildren want to thank their family and friends for donating to the “Joanna Silver Memorial Fund.”